Happy, Merry Politically Correct Day!

Okay I’m going to rant.  If you are subject to break into tears due to scathing sarcasm I suggest you leave now or else you’re just going to get your tender feelings hurt.

You were warned…

Ready?

Okay I just heard a radio talk show host read a letter threatening him with a lawsuit from the ACLU if he continues to say Merry Christmas.  It was from an atheist protesting his blatant use of air time to “promote his religious beliefs” and would result in getting sued for “pain and suffering induced by his comments” in the letter writer’s family.  He sent in a “politically correct greeting” to be used on each caller that took 2 minutes to read (including a disclaimer) or the lawsuit would be filed.

What?

I hear people say Happy Holidays, I respond in kind.  I hear people tell me Merry Christmas, I respond in kind.  If some tells me Happy Yule..so on and so forth.  What’s the big deal?  Pound for pound most Pagans I have met are the most tolerant people I know.  Those of Christian persuasion run about 50% when it comes to another religion.  On the other end of the spectrum are these crazy wackos who believe in…well…nothing.  If a word means nothing to you, where is the harm in hearing it?  Are you so thin-skinned and intolerant that every little thing in this world bothers you?  My first reaction would be to say…go jump off a bridge.  In the first place you’ll improve the lives of those around you and secondly you might (to your shame and surprise) discover that there is something after death.  However, my real answer would be to look up the world tolerance.

From the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary 11th edition: 

Tolerance  1.  The capacity to endure pain or hardship.  2a. sympathy or indulgence for beliefs or practices differing from or conflicting with one’s own.  b. the act of allowing something: ENDURANCE, FORTITUDE, STAMINA.

Now before you accuse me of being intolerant let me say this much…I didn’t write a letter to sue anyone lately for the beliefs.  Threatening someone just because you get upset over “Merry Christmas” makes me think that:

1.  You don’t want anyone wishing you well.

2. You are too sensitive for life’s turmoil.

3. Don’t have anything better to do.

4.  Can’t find the dial on your radio to switch channels.

Am I wrong?

I don’t listen to some people because their views don’t fit mine.  Therefore I don’t indulge myself in self-mutilation of my feelings by continuing to do so.  If you don’t like Rush Limbaugh…don’t listen to him.  If you don’t like Glenn Beck…switch the channel.  If you stand in front of the television (or radio) screaming at these people…seek out professional psychiatric help, you have a problem.  Geez people isn’t life hard enough without making it worse ON PURPOSE!?

To all my friends and colleagues I wish you the very best in this season.  Be it Yule, Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza or whatever.  May the blessings of those around you, fill your life with gladness.  Let us hope that TOLERANCE and good cheer will eventually rule the lives of everyone.  Let us all pray or cast positive spells(or if you don’t believe in prayer or spells please think this out loud) that someday, some way the people will wake up and realize that they can make a positive impact on those around them.  In closing I want to say that a Hindu gentleman on the phone (who told me his religious beliefs) wished me Merry Christmas.  That is beautiful isn’t it?

…end rant, you can now go back to your regularly scheduled program.

One response to “Happy, Merry Politically Correct Day!

  1. as a Pagan, and one of your co-workers, I too don’t let anyone one else’s faith bother me. I had one customer tell me I really needed to check out his pro-christian website. I didn’t say no, I thanked him for the info.

    And you are quite correct Chris, some folks need to learn to change the channel, or just turn it off and learn to have a life. It is, after all, why we are here.

    Peace,
    Morgan
    p.s. I have your website as part of my sig file. Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

